Rorate caeli

                                                                                                                  Schola Sanctae Scholasticae, UK


Rorate caeli Refrain 1 JPEG
Rorate caeli Refrain 2 JPEG

Drop down dew, ye heavens, from above, and let the clouds rain down the Just One.


Rorate caeli verse 1 JPEG
Rorate caeli Refrain 2 JPEG

1.  Be not angry, O Lord, and remember no longer our iniquity:
     behold the city of the Holy One is become a desert: Sion is
     become a desert: Jerusalem is desolate: the house of thy
     sanctification and of thy glory, where our fathers praised thee.

Rorate caeli verse 2 JPEG
Rorate caeli Refrain 2 JPEG

2.  We have sinned and are become as one that is unclean: and we
     have all fallen as a leaf, and our iniquities like the wind have
     carried us away: thou hast hidden thy face from us, and hast
     crushed us in the hold of our iniquity.  

Rorate caeli verse 3 JPEG
Rorate caeli Refrain 2 JPEG

3.  Behold, O Lord, the affliction of thy people, and send forth Him
     Who is to come: send forth the Lamb, the ruler of the earth, from
     the Rock of the desert, to the mount of daughter Sion: that he
     may take away the yoke of our captivity.  

Rorate caeli verse 4 JPEG
Rorate caeli Refrain 2 JPEG

4.  Be comforted, be comforted, my people: thy salvation cometh
     quickly: why art thou consumed with grief: for sorrow hath
     estranged thee: I will save thee: fear not, for I am the Lord thy
     God, the Holy One of Israel, thy Redeemer.  


Suggested use:  During Mass: Offertory, Communion

Note:  Music from the Parish Book of Chant (CMAA, 2012, page 232) and used with permission from The Church Music Association of America. Book can be purchased at  and is also available by download from

© Schola Sanctae Scholasticae 2014